TOS honors the esteemed recipients of its 2016 Named Awards this week in the Opening Session and the TOS Awards Ceremony. The awards program was created more than a decade ago to promote, reward, and encourage research in the field of obesity, with the end goal of helping to improve the lives of those affected. Each award recognizes the honoree for their scientific achievements and major contributions to the basic science, treatment and prevention of obesity.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

2016 Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to this recipient who, like Mickey Stunkard, has made a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the field of obesity in terms of scholarship, mentorship and education. This year’s recipient is:

Dale Alan Schoeller, PhD

University of Wisconsin-Madison

2016 Atkinson-Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service

Recognizes an individual or organization whose work has significantly improved the lives of those affected by obesity, whether through research, public policy, patient care, or other means. This year’s recipient is:

William H. Dietz, Jr, MD, PhD

Milken Institute School of Public Health

2016 TOPS Research Achievement Award

Recognizes an individual for singular achievement or contribution to research in the field of obesity. This year’s recipient is:

Roger D. Cone, PhD

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

10:30am “Hypotheses come and go, data is forever “
Dale A Schoeller, PhD
11:05am “From Melanocortin Pharmacology to Pharmacotherapy”
Roger D Cone
11:38am “Opportunities and Challenges in Federal Service”
William H Dietz, MD